Housing Networks

Tenant Participation

Housing Networks

Housing Networks are an essential part of our Tenant Participation (TP) structure in West Lothian. Our networks are designed to provide open access to all Tenant and Resident Groups, individual tenants, homeless people and other service users. Five Sisters, Cairn Brock and our Homeless Network offer a well established and welcoming approach to TP. Housing Networks cover separate parts of West Lothian: Five Sisters operate in the Western part and Cairn Brock in the Eastern part of West Lothian. Joint Networks are held when housing and related issues are of common interest to both Networks.

Homeless Network

group-clipart-sccpeople-mdOur Homeless Network operates across all West Lothian. Homelessness offers its own set of challenges to those affected by it. For this reason, members of the network are either currently homeless or have came through the experience of homelessness. Working with Housing Needs Service, the Homeless Network aims to develop services and support structures appropriate to homelessness.

The laws about homelessness are very complicated. Being homeless generally means having no housing that is reasonable for people to carry on living in. People are 'threatened with homelessness' if they are likely to become homeless within the next two months. The Council has produced advice sheets for those affected by homelessness. If you are homeless or threatened with homelessness you can download the information leaflets by using the links below:

Five Sisters Housing Network

Five Sisters

Armadale and Blackridge ward consists of Armadale, Blackridge, Westrigg, Westfield and Torphichen

Bathgate ward consists of Bathgate and Boghall

Whitburn and Blackburn ward consists of Whitburn, Blackburn, East Whitburn, Greenrigg and Seafield

Fauldhouse and Breich Valley ward consists of Fauldhouse, Longridge, Bents, Stoneyburn, Loganlea, Addiewell, Breich, West Calder and Polbeth

Cairn Brock Housing Network

Broxburn new buid homesLinlithgow council ward consists of Linlithgow, Bridgend, Philpstoun, Newton and Beecraigs

Broxburn, Uphall and Winchburgh ward consists of Broxburn, Uphall, Winchburgh, Ecclesmachan and Dechmont

Livingston North ward consists of Deans, Knightsridge, Newyearfield, Eliburn and Livingston Village north of the River Almond

Livingston South ward consists of Ladywell, Howden, Kaimes, Livingston Village south of the River Almond, Adambrae, Dedridge, Bellsquarry and Murieston

Livingston East and East Calder ward consists of Uphall Station, Pumpherston, Craigshill, Mid Calder, East Calder, Kirknewton, Wilkieston and Harburn

Role of the Housing Networks

Both Five Sisters and Cairn Brock Housing Networks are advised of all Housing and Building Services consultations and any proposals to bring about change in services. The Housing Networks will meet with their members to gather their views. They will also talk to other tenants and service users. The Housing Networks also carry out other functions, including:

  • Delegate two members from each Housing Network to sit on the Services for the Communities Policy, Development and Scrutiny Panel
  • elect three members from each Housing Network to represent us on the Tenants Panel
  • meet to debate relevant matters of interest to our members
  • joint meetings are held to discuss and debate West Lothian wide service delivery
  • respond to local consultations
  • member of Regional Network of Registered Tenants Organisation
  • contribute to Tenant Led Inspection Programme
  • respond to Government consultations in respect to national housing policy

Why not come and join us

If you live in any of the above named communities, you can join like-minded tenants and residents and participate in a way that suits you. Full details on how you can become involved are available in the tenant participation strategy. Although the Council resources us, we retain our independence and work to an agreed Annual Work Plan.  Our individual meetings are held once a month on either a Tuesday (Five Sisters) or Wednesday (Cairn Brock).

Contact Details

TP Team on 01506 281882 

Email: TP@westlothian.gov.uk